Question: Which nations were part of French Indochina in the 1800s?

What countries were part of French Indochina?

Indochina, also called (until 1950) French Indochina or French Indochine Française, the three countries of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia formerly associated with France, first within its empire and later within the French Union.

Which nations were part of French Indochina in the 1800s quizlet?

French Indochina was split into three countries: Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam. Vietnam was to be temporarily divided along the 17th Parallel until elections could be held to unite the country. These elections were never held. The Vietminh established a communist state in the North led by Ho Chi Minh.

Why did the French claim Indochina in the 1800s?

From the late 1800’s to 1954, Vietnam was part of a French colony called French Indochina. When the French first became interested in Indochina French missionaries sought to convert the Vietnamese to Catholicism, the religion of France.

Which countries made up French Indochina and for what reasons?

French Indochina was formed on October 17, 1887, from Annam, Tonkin, Cochinchina (which together form modern Vietnam), and the Kingdom of Cambodia. Laos was added after the Franco-Siamese War in 1893. The French adopted a policy of assimilation rather than association.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Best answer: How is Malaysia's economy now?

What was the French Indochina war quizlet?

In 1946, war broke out between communist insurgents in North Vietnam, called the Viet Minh, and the French Colonial government. … The defeat was so disastrous for the French that they decided to withdraw from Vietnam.

Who is the colonial power controlling French Indochina the modern day nations of Vietnam Laos and Cambodia )? Quizlet?

Terms in this set (67) In 1940 Japan invaded Vietnam, becoming one of a series of foreign nations to rule the Asian country. The Chinese had controlled the region for hundreds of years. Then, from the late 1800s until World War II, the French ruled Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia—a region then known as French Indochina.

Which country lies north and east of Vinh?

It is bordered by China to the north, the South China Sea to the east and south, the Gulf of Thailand (Gulf of Siam) to the southwest, and Cambodia and Laos to the west.

How did the countries of French Indochina gain their independence?

How did the countries of French Indochina gain their independence? … A military junta systematically overthrew the French regime in each country. Communist forces waged a successful war for independence. The United States negotiated with France on behalf of the colonies.